Post #6

1. What is 1 activity that I am asking my students to do?

One thing I am asking my students to do is create a model aircraft to demonstrate different types of lift (fixed-wing, rotary-wing, propulsion, and hot-air).

2. What am I hoping to get out of this learning activity?

From this learning activity I am hoping to give the students an opportunity to apply the principles they learned to a working model.

3. How can I deepen the learning experience?

To deepen the learning experience I plan on creating a competition to judge distance traveled, height reached, max velocity attained, and time aloft. This will prompt the student to brainstorm the pros and cons to each mode of flight and design their models accordingly. A transforming question to ask is, what factors did the early pioneers of flight have to take into consideration to be successful when designing their early prototypes? Since then, what new technologies have improved modern aircraft and how? Lastly, what undeveloped technologies do you think will improve the aviation industry in the future?

Leave a comment